Ciao Italy: Capri

I’m actually typing this up on a high-speed train from Naples to Capri. I know I said I was going through my time in Italy in a chronological order but I thought that I would at least try and type this up while it was still fresh in my memory.

Although the trains are not the smoothest in the world, (I feel like that honour belongs to the Japanese shinkansen), the scenery is stunning. To visit the Italian cities I’ve taken trains all the way from the north in Turin down to Naples in the south, and in the process, I’ve passed by beautiful mountain ranges, charming little towns, idyllic pastoral scenes and ruined castles. This is such a change from long haul train rides in Australia where you’re more inclined to see reddish dirt.

Now onto the actual content of this post!

Capri is often touted as Italy’s answer to Santorini, with beautiful blue seas, magnificent views and very steep climbs. One of my friends highly recommended Capri to me before I went to Italy, so I just had to check it out!

By fast boat, the trip to Capri is only 40-50 minutes. I’ve heard that the boat can rock a lot and leave you feeling pretty seasick. Not one to take chances, I took some travel sickness medication and slept the whole way over!

DSC07567

I was disappointed to learn that I couldn’t buy tickets to go visit the blue grotto because the seas were too choppy and the water level too high. In light of that, I decided to give the whole boat ride along the island thing a miss because I was still a bit dizzy from the ride over.

DSC07574

Not to be deterred, I decided to make the most out of my day and head to Capri Centro. I was entirely caught off guard by just how much of a climb it was to the city centre. I sweated and cursed my choice of shoes as I made my way up. On the other hand, it was nice to have the walk up mostly to myself and to get a feel for the windy streets of the island.

DSC07576

On the other hand, the main piazza and the city streets were buzzing with the smart people who had decided to take a train or cable car up! The town of Capri is actually full of stores, hotels and restaurants down alleyways and all across the main road. All the luxury brands were really well represented and I can imagine this being the perfect place to splash out for a romantic honeymoon. As a poor uni student, I had other priorities!

I quickly popped into the church in the city centre before heading off to see the more natural side of Capri.

DSC07587

As my luck would have it, the natural arch of Capri was under construction! This was a complete surprise, because although I have encountered my fair share of buildings and monuments being under construction, this was a real first. Part of me was rather disappointed whereas another part of me found this all too humorous. I could overhear a lot of other tourists around me lamenting that seeing all the scaffolding was a real shame. In the end, I guess it would be more of a shame for erosion to eventually cause the whole thing to collapse, so good on the government for attempting to maintain it.

 

Not far from the main city centre is the Augustus gardens. It turns out that the garden was really more of a small well maintained park. The main draw card is the amazing views that you get of the bay and paths far below. There is a small entrance fee, but I felt that it helped keep the crowds at bay and made sure that there was room for everyone to sit and relax.

DSC07599

On the way to the gardens, make sure you pop into Carthusia. The international perfumery is based in Capri, with scents based off of the island itself and other parts of Italy. The store both smells and looks incredible. At the time I couldn’t justify buying anything but browsing was still a rather pleasant experience.

All the wandering around had made me rather thirsty so I picked up a freshly squeezed orange juice from a friendly store owner. Sitting, back against the sun, juice in hand, I realised that it’s easy to love Italy when you find yourself in such a picture perfect moment.

Less pleasant was the bus ride over to Anacapri. What I initially envisaged as a zippy 15 minute trip over to the Capri’s other town soon morphed into a frustrating 30 minute queue in sweltering heat to get onto the tiny jam packed buses.

When I eventually got to Anacapri it was with a real sense of relief. Coming off the bus, it seemed like the heat and people were peeling away to reveal a more spacious town. Gone were the large piazzas and bars, and instead I saw a few houses and steep heels. Although most people were taking an afternoon break, in typical Italian fashion I couldn’t resist a little wander through the historical centre.

Perhaps the most famous and eye-catching part of the historical centre is the tiled ceramic floor of St Michel. This pokey church doesn’t look like much from the outside, but the ceramic floor really is something to behold. It looks part biblical and part fantasy. It was difficult to capture it all on the ground level, and even from the second floor taking it all in was impressive.

 

Villa San Michele is without a doubt my favourite part of Capri. The entrance was so unassuming that I mistakenly thought it was a gift store. Swedish Physician Axel Munthe arguably made Capri and his Villa famous through his biography, which penned the creation of this Villa. In the present day it is part museum, part cafe and part gardens. I found that it worked on all those levels, as it was both educational and a beautiful place to sit and have a moment of tranquility.

DSC07681

The mysterious sphinx sits at the centre of many of the stories about the house. I couldn’t resist taking a photo from behind it.

After the nightmare bus ride, I figured that it would be much safer to walk back to the port rather than risk another sweaty line. Little did I know of the horrors that awaited me! Okay, that’s a little exaggerated. To be more accurate I had no idea how much of a trek the path down was. I walked down seemingly endless flights of stairs and roads before eventually finding myself back where I started. Distance aside, this was actually a fairly tame walk. At times the incline was fairly steep, but there were few people and lots of opportunities to take breaks.

Capri feels like a whole world away from the grittier Naples. It’s easy to see why people associate it with romantic getaways and a heady scent of citrus fruits. It’s almost impossible to resist the relaxed holiday mood that permeates almost all of the island. I simply can’t argue against the charming fairy tale romance that Capri has, nor would I want to.

DSC07622

Tips

Never trust the time estimate the google maps gives you to when walking to places in Capri. It seriously does not take into account the steep climb up and down!  My legs were shaking uncontrollably at the end of the day.

Getting to and from Capri from Naples is fairly straight forward. You can buy a ticket for the ferry or boat at the port on the day which is what I did. You can also book your tickets online beforehand. If you know what time you would like to arrive and depart I highly suggest buying your tickets earlier in the day or online. This is because when I went to buy my tickets, the next ferry was usually sold out so I would have to buy tickets for a boat that was 20 or so minutes after the time I originally wanted. This usually meant that I was just waiting around the port for 40 or so minutes, which isn’t the worst thing in the world as there’s always snacks to buy and stores to browse but it’s probably not the best use of time if you don’t have a lot of it.

DSC07712

Leave a Reply

