Runya’s Room

A few weeks back one of my friends organised a lovely high tea at Runya’s room. The tea room is located in the relatively new St Collins Lane. The whole tea room is a splash of pastels, soft lighting and relaxing classical music. Christina Rae tea ware is used, adding an extra girly touch to the whole affair.

dsc09580

Tea from Harney and Sons is always welcome. I adore the cinnamon tea, but this time I thought that I would try something a little bit different and got the citrus green. This turned out to be very lightly flavoured so unlike some of the other tea blends it didn’t really suffer from over steeping.

dsc09584

I’m going to admit that I don’t entirely remember all the offerings for high tea that day. The menu had altered significantly from what was posted online, so my searches as to what these tasty morsels were exactly have fallen a little short. The top tier consisted of hot savouries. My favourites were the crunchy toast with tuna and chicken skewer. The lamb kofta had a rather strong lamb flavour.

dsc09585

I don’t recall all the sandwich fillings, but oddly enough they were actually my favourite part of the tea. The standard cucumber or egg fillings were nowhere in sight. The two standouts were the grilled vegetable sandwich and the chicken with capers and pickles.

dsc09587

I was pleasantly surprised by the wide range of savoury options available. In contrast to this, the small bites of cake seemed almost like an afterthought. Although the tiramisu cake and charlotte cake (on the plastic spoon) were rather ordinary but the strawberry fraisier and pineapple panna cotta were smooth, creamy and tasty.

dsc09588

In another unusual twist, scones were bought out last. Although not traditional, it makes perfect sense when you think about it. This way the scones are still warm when you eat them, and you won’t be filling up on scones before being able to sample all the other treats. I preferred the date scone, which was soft and flavoursome even without jam and cream. The clotted cream was lovely, but I wasn’t all that partial to either jam. The carrot jam was a bit too strange and cloying, and the apple was closer to an apple sauce rather than jam. That said, my friends, all enjoyed the spiced apple jam considerably.

There was a bit of confusion when it came to paying. My friend had paid a deposit to secure the booking as per on their website, but the staff couldn’t find a record of it anywhere. As a result, she had to pay the full amount and have the deposit refunded to her when they found records of it.

Despite the mix-ups, this was still a very relaxing outing. There was enough food to leave you feeling full but not bloated. Inside the tea room, it feels miles away from the hustle and bustle of the city outside, perfect for catching up with friends and lounging the afternoon away.

http://runyasroom.com.au/
Runya's Room Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

I don’t usually mix my fashion and food posts, but I thought that I would also pop in a picture of what I was wearing to tea since I was really happy with this outfit. It’s the first time I’ve worn out this cute retro pillbox hat despite owning it for over a year!

dsc_0322

Leave a Reply

