Finding the way with a Square and Compass

A few weeks ago I tasked Ryan with finding a brunch place that was easy to get to and served light and healthy brunch fare. Square and Compass has been on my radar for a while, but I didn’t realise just how close it was to the cbd until Ryan bought it up!

Behind Square and Compass’ unassuming red brick interior there is a sleek and modern café. We were seated near the front of the café, and although the tables were a little bit squished together I loved the natural light on my back. There’s also a small courtyard out the back which I imagine would be lovely to sit in during Summer to lap up the sun.

After placing our orders I was surprised at just how fast everything came out!  As per usual I had a tea and Ryan ordered a coffee.

DSC_1092

I had the Californian super food salad with an additional side of orange cured trout. Initially I found this a bit bland, considering all the good stuff that was inside this salad, but the more I ate the more I enjoyed it. I think it’s just a case of being a bit inconsistently dressed and needing to have a few bites to mix all the ingredients. I really loved the slight chilli kick which contrasted with the sweet corn and goji berries.

DSC_1093

$6 for a side of ocean trout is a bit on the expensive side, considering it lacked any citrus taste and wasn’t particularly different from any of the other house cured trouts that I have tried. However, seeing as most run of the mill cafes tend to charge a lot for regular smoked salmon from a packet this pricing here is on par. Not that I’m never going to stop being a bit miffed about it though!

If I were to ever have this salad again, rather than salmon I think that a poached egg would make a lovely addition. The yolk would really help dress and flavour the first few mouthfuls of salad and make the whole dish satisfying from start to finish.

DSC_1086

Ryan had the open lamb sandwich with picked onions, mint, barberries, pomegranate, pine nuts and labne. When I snuck in a bite I found the lamb to be a bit on the dry side but it was definitely packed with flavour! Ryan said he really enjoyed it. When mixed together everything went down a treat.

Somehow, we managed to resist the call of the sweet buttermilk pancakes and promised that we would come back to try them out at a later date.

For a café that ticks all the rights boxes it was surprisingly not packed! I was relieved that we didn’t have to wait for a table. Although throughout our meal there were certainly a lot of people milling around the front, waiting for take away coffee.  I think the locals know that they are onto a good thing at Square and Compass and keen to keep it that way before the buzz gets out onto the street.

http://squareandcompass.com.au/

Square and Compass Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 thoughts on “Finding the way with a Square and Compass

Leave a Reply

